Monday, 21 May 2018

Shadowblack - Sebastien de Castell

It's a few months since Kellen left his people behind. Now aged sixteen, Kellen is an outlaw, relying on his wits to keep him alive in the land of the Seven Sands. He misses home, he misses family and more than anything, he misses Nephenia, the girl he left behind. 

Then he meets Seneira, a blindfolded girl who isn't blind, and who carries a secret that's all too familiar to Kellen. Kellen and Ferius resolve to help - but the stakes are far higher than they realise. A Shadowblack plague is taking hold - and Kellen can't help but suspect his own people may even be behind it. 


Paperback, 368 pages
Expected publication: May 17th 2018 by Hot Key Books (first published October 5th 2017)
Spellslinger #2
Fantasy / YA
Own

My thoughts.
The plague seems to be spreading, or is it?

I do like Kellen, he is a mess. He is not perfect, he is not a great mage, he is, well normal! And he is trying and getting better at what he does. Luckily he has the best sidekick ever to help him. I do adore Reichis, the best squirrelcat in the world. And he does love to talk about eating eyeballs, my cutie.

I am not feeling very reviewer like today. I am listening to an audiobook when I should concentrate...say something smart...smart...smart...sigh, my brain can not focus.

Right! People are hunting Kellen cos he has the shadowblack and must die.
He comes to a town to solve a mystery. 

Ack, I can't write something smart.

I liked the book, though it was not as good as book 1. That one was light and fun. This one was still light, but at the same time a bit more serious.

Conclusion:'
I look forward to more


Sunday, 20 May 2018

Carole's Sunday_ America's first daughter

Author: Stephanie Dray & Laura Kamoie 
Title: America's First Daughter
Genre: Historical Fiction & Romance
Pages: Audiobook
Published: March 1st 2016  
Where I Got It: My shelf (Audible)

In a compelling, richly researched novel that draws from thousands of letters and original sources, bestselling authors Stephanie Dray and Laura Kamoie tell the fascinating, untold story of Thomas Jefferson’s eldest daughter, Martha “Patsy” Jefferson Randolph—a woman who kept the secrets of our most enigmatic founding father and shaped an American legacy.


From her earliest days, Patsy Jefferson knows that though her father loves his family dearly, his devotion to his country runs deeper still. As Thomas Jefferson’s oldest daughter, she becomes his helpmate, protector, and constant companion in the wake of her mother’s death, traveling with him when he becomes American minister to France.



It is in Paris, at the glittering court and among the first tumultuous days of revolution, that fifteen-year-old Patsy learns about her father’s troubling liaison with Sally Hemings, a slave girl her own age. Meanwhile, Patsy has fallen in love—with her father’s protégé William Short, a staunch abolitionist and ambitious diplomat. Torn between love, principles, and the bonds of family, Patsy questions whether she can choose a life as William’s wife and still be a devoted daughter.



Her choice will follow her in the years to come, to Virginia farmland, Monticello, and even the White House. And as scandal, tragedy, and poverty threaten her family, Patsy must decide how much she will sacrifice to protect her father's reputation, in the process defining not just his political legacy, but that of the nation he founded.



This was one of the longest audiobooks I have listened too. It took me a while to get through it!


The story follows Patsy Jefferson who is the daughter of the famous Thomas Jefferson. We get to see the man and the forming of this nation through her eyes. We get to see this young lady grow in the shadow of her father. She may have been in the shadow, but she certainly grew into an impressive person herself. It was certainly a journey. 



I'll admit I knew close to nothing about her. I know some about her father, but not a lot. It was a fun. It was sad. It was a long journey for her and for us, the listeners/readers. 



Honestly...I don't know how the lady kept herself cool and collected. There were so many times I would've flown off the handles and given a piece of my mind. I would've cried and screamed and kicked. There were times I agree with her being collected...I would've tried (but probably failed) to be cool, but there were times she should've stood up and said something. Poor girl. Poor Thomas J. Poor William (even though he made me mad at one point). 



Yes, yes, I was team William. I did not trust Tom at the beginning and I was proven right again and again. Sighs.



So yes, there is a touch of romance in this, but I do not feel it takes away from the story. It felt very realistic. There is love in normal life and this felt like Patsy telling her grandbabies the story. There was a good balance between the romance, the drama, the story, and the characters. Perfectly balanced. A rare sight indeed especially with two authors writing this. 



The narration was done well. She was SUPER southern. Did early southern colonists have thick accents? I'll have to research that...maybe they did, but I feel it was way too thick. In my language class I took eons ago we talked about the colonists and they were different from the English, but overall so at that time period. I can see the accent forming into the 1800s, but during the war? Mmmm not sure. I could be COMPLETELY wrong. We did not go into much details about each colony. Just an overall look (and it has been years - so I could be forgetting). Other than that, I really enjoyed her! She made me hooked on the story right away. She really embodied all the characters when they spoke even the male characters. 



Overall, this was really good. I really enjoyed it! I highly recommend this for historical lovers. The audio was good, but I bet reading would be just as good! I'll stamp this with 4 stars. 









Saturday, 19 May 2018

Saturday Movie: Black Panther

T'Challa, the King of Wakanda, rises to the throne in the isolated, technologically advanced African nation, but his claim is challenged by a vengeful outsider who was a childhood victim of T'Challa's father's mistake.

Director: Ryan Coogler
Writers: Ryan Coogler, Joe Robert Cole | 
Stars: Chadwick Boseman, Michael B. Jordan, Lupita Nyong'o 

2h 14 min Action

My thoughts:
This is a by request review as I was told I only review crap movies, HA, ok that was not the words she used ;) But yes omg I review SO MANY crap movies. That is my gift to all of you.

SO, it was good, was it awesome? Nah. It was like other marvel movies and they are good to watch, but never awesome. Exceptions being Guardians, Thor Ragnarök and Iron Man cos those are funny! Yes I like funny.

There was so much stuff leading up to the more interesting part, being like the last 30 min or more. So those were the more meh parts, until hot guy came around and shook things up. And I hear ya hot guy, I get it, Wakanda should have done more. I can't believe I am agreeing with hot guy. But then he goes all WAR, so that was not cool, though, I would have loved to see more of him.

Cos the king is just so dang nice you know, eh, me likey Bad guy.

Oh and why is like his sister the only person ever working in the lab (except for in the first scene). Isn't she a bit too young to spearhead all that tech and it just felt like she was the one that came up with it all.

But the last part was the best. OMG WAR RHINOS! Freaking WAR RHINOS!
Gotta love me a war or fight scene.

Oh oh oh, I almost forgot, omg the Northern Tribe, yeah, can they rule this country instead? Damn.
ALso how freaking high are those mountains if they always live up there in the snow?!

Last thoughts.
Sure it was good, but it goes there with the rest of the Avengers, Spider man and the rest. AT the bottom there is Cap America (I hate that guy). And you know what is on top, the funny ones! Though I fear the second Guardian can share the spot with this one, cos that one was not funny.

And what we learned? War rhinos are cool!
aALso the Northern tribe was HAWT


Friday, 18 May 2018

Audio: Murder between the lines - Radha Vatsal

In the second book in the acclaimed Kitty Weeks Mystery series, Kitty is tasked with writing a story about Westfield Hall, a prestigious girls' boarding school. Tragedy strikes when a student named Elspeth is found frozen to death in Central Park. The doctors proclaim that the girl's sleepwalking was the cause, but Kitty isn't so sure.

Determined to uncover the truth, Kitty must investigate a more chilling scenario—a murder that may involve Elspeth's scientist father and a new invention by Thomas Edison.

For fans of Susan Elia MacNeal and Jacqueline Winspear, Murder Between the Lines is a rich and spirited novel with irresistible charm, combining true historical events with a thrilling mystery. 

Audio CD, 7 pages
Published May 1st 2018 by Tantor Audio
Kitty Weeks Mystery #2
Historical mystery
For review

My thoughts:
I have not read/listened to book 1, and I know that I often say it, but honestly, here it truly works as a  stand alone. The author smoothly sets the reader into Kitty's life and it is like we always were there lurking.

Kitty is 19 and works as a reporter at a woman's page at a magazine. Sure, she does not get paid and she works half days, but she loves it! She wants to be  real reporter, in this man's world. She is curious, nice and young. I liked that it really shows that she is 19 at times. That she still lives with her father and it dependent on him. That she does want to strike out on her own, but is not really ready for that.

What to call this book then. Historical mystery? Sure, yes, and it was light too.

The story then; A girl Kitty just met is found dead. She thinks it is weird and investigates, and this is what I love about historical mysteries, it takes time! She is slowly talking to people and following leads, not even knowing if there was foul play. 

And during this there is talk of war (1915-16), submarines and what Germany might do. Suffragettes and women's place in the work place. All neatly woven in  as she look for her clues. I liked that Kitty learned more about herself and what she wanted to do as she looked deeper into things.

I liked the ending, it was something to make you think

Conclusion:
I enjoyed it and I hope Kitty will have more adventures.

Narrator Justine Eyre
She sounded so familiar, and then she did an accent and I knew! Yes I have listened to her before and I enjoy her voice. I like her male voices and accents. And the friendly tone she has.


Contributors

Copyright © 2008-2016 Book Girl of Mur-y-Castell All Rights Reserved. Proudly powered by Blogger

  © Blogger template Starry by Ourblogtemplates.com 2008 Modified by Lea

Back to TOP